Home > Area Codes > 217 Area Code

217 Area Code

Introduction To Area Code 217

The 217 area code is located in central Illinois and was one of the original area codes created in 1947. It serves the Greater Springfield area, which is the state's third largest city. 217 is also the primary area code for the capital city of Springfield.The 217 area code covers a large area that includes parts of 13 counties. The easternmost part of the area is in the Danville metropolitan area, while the westernmost part is in the Jacksonville metropolitan area. Other major cities in the 217 area code include Champaign, Decatur, and Urbana.

There are nearly 2.5 million people living in the 217 area code, and it is projected to continue growing at a rate of about 1.5% per year. This makes it one of the fastest-growing area codes in the country.

Regions That Use 217 As Area Code

There are a few regions in the United States that use the 217 area code. Illinois, Indiana, and Missouri are a few of the states that have this area code. This area code was created in 1947 and was originally used in central Illinois. Over the years, the area code has been split and used in different areas. Today, there are a few regions in the U.S. that still use the 217 area code.

Time Zones With Area Code 217

What time is it in Illinois? If you're wondering what time it is in Illinois, you'll need to know the time zone. Illinois is in the Central Time Zone. The time zone is divided into four time zones: Eastern, Central, Mountain, and Pacific.Each time zone is divided into two time halves: a standard time half and a daylight saving time half. In the Central Time Zone, the standard time half is from UTC-6 to UTC-5, and the daylight saving time half is from UTC-5 to UTC-4.

Central Time Zone is one of the six time zones in the United States. The time zone is split between the Central Time Zone and the Eastern Time Zone. The Central Time Zone includes the following states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

The Central Time Zone is also used in parts of Canada, Mexico, and Central America. In Canada, the time zone is used in the provinces of Manitoba, Ontario, and Quebec. In Mexico, the time zone is used in the states of Chihuahua, Durango, Jalisco, Nayarit, Sinaloa, and Sonora. In Central America, the time zone is used in Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama.



Enter Area Code
Powered bydefault img

Cities Served by 217 Are Code

  • New Jersey, NJ
  • District of Columbia, DC
  • Connecticut, CT
  • Alabama, AL
  • Washington, WA
  • Maine, ME
  • Idaho, ID
  • California, CA
  • Texas, TX
  • New York, NY
  • California, CA
  • Texas, TX
  • Pennsylvania, PA
  • Ohio, OH
  • Illinois, IL

Details of Prefixes in 217 Area Code

Current Location
default img
Run a Free Reverse Phone Lookup Now

USPhoneLookup makes it easy to find out where the call comes from.

Disclaimer: USPhoneLookup's mission is to give people easy and affordable access to public record information, but USPhoneLookup does not provide private investigator services or consumer reports and is not a consumer reporting agency per the Fair Credit Reporting Act. You may not use our site or service or the information provided to make decisions about employment, admission, consumer credit, insurance, tenant screening, or any other purpose that would require FCRA compliance. For more information governing permitted and prohibited uses, please review our "Do's & Don'ts" and Terms & Conditions.

Our site includes links to third-party websites or services we partner with. If you purchase through these links, we will receive payment of commissions, referral fees, or rewards at no extra cost to you.